totc-artwork

Share this show

#TwoCitiesTour

Co-produced with Royal & Derngate, Northampton. Adapted by Mike Poulton. Directed by James Dacre.

Dickens considered his novel, A Tale Of Two Cities the best story he had ever written. Interweaving one family’s intensely personal drama with the terror and chaos of the French Revolution, it is an epic story of love, sacrifice and redemption amidst horrific violence and world changing events.

In an era of regime changes and citizen protest around the world, this bold new dramatic adaptation by Mike Poulton (Fortune’s Fool, Old Vic; Wolf Hall) set to rousing original music by Oscar- winning composer Rachel Portman (The Cider House Rules, Beloved) seems more relevant than ever.

★★★★ “A lean punchy adaptation of Charles Dickens’ classic tale of revolutionary France – The Daily Telegraph

★★★★‘”assured, and highly watchable” – The Independent

★★★★ “the dynamism of James Dacre’s staging” – The Guardian

★★★★ “splendid production,” directed by James Dacre.” – The Observer

Tues 13 – Sat 17 September
Box Office
01604 624 811
Tues 20 –  Sat 24 September
Box Office
01865 305 305

Tues 27 Sept – Sat 1 October
Box Office
0844 871 7651
Tues 4 – Sat 8 October
Box Office
01274 432 000

 

Tues 11 – Sat 15 October
Box Office
01253 290 190
Weds 19 – Sat 22 October
Box Office
01902 429 212
Tues 1 – Sat 5 November
Box Office
0844 871 7627
Tues 8 – Sat 12 November
Box Office
0131 529 6000
Tues 15 – Sat 19 November
Box Office
01242 572573
Tues 22 – Sat 26 November
Box Office
0115 989 555

Our learning resources are available to view and download for free by teachers wanting to support students’ engagement – as well as to everyone else who is interested in gaining a deeper understanding of the play and production.

 

If you want to know more about the workshops and events we offer or for school bookings, contact your nearest theatre.

More information

Read more at Theatre Cloud